Contains malted barley wheat gluten

Celiac Disease - Food Choices

fruit and vegetables

Gluten free

  • unprocessed, fresh fruits and vegetables
  • Frozen fruits and vegetables without any other additives
  • Preserves whose list of ingredients only includes fruits and vegetables, water, sugar, glucose syrup or salt

Gluten additives are possible - selection only after careful, up-to-date examination

  • Preserves with flavorings and preservatives, flavor enhancers, acidulants, condiments, light products, etc.
  • Frozen fruit sweetened with a sweetener, frozen vegetables with flavoring ingredients and / or binding agents
  • Candied fruits, apples with sugar icing, dried fruits that have run over floured conveyor belts

Nuts and oil seeds

Gluten free

  • unprocessed nuts, almonds, flax seeds, poppy seeds, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, pine nuts

Gluten additives are possible - selection only after careful, up-to-date examination

  • Candied products such as roasted almonds, poppy seed and nut mixes, trail mixes

Milk and milk products, cheese, cheese preparations

Gluten free

Milk and milk products in natural form

  • Milk, natural yoghurt, butter, curd and sour milk, quark, cream, sour cream, cottage cheese, mascarpone, creme fraiche, coffee cream, condensed milk

Natural cheese

  • Emmentaler, Gouda, Edam, Tilsiter, Lindenberger, Grünländer, Parmesan, natural cream cheese, mozzarella and feta in brine, sheep's cheese, goat cheese

Gluten additives are possible - selection only after careful, up-to-date examination

milk and milkproducts

  • Light and reduced fat products
  • Products with added fruit, muesli and herbs
  • Yoghurt and quark products
  • Spray cream also with flavoring additives, milk foam, milkshakes, creams and puddings, milk enriched with vitamins or nutrients

Cheese and cheese preparations

  • Light and reduced-fat cheese
  • Cheese preparations
  • Imitation cheese
  • grated or diced cheese (gluten-containing release agent additive possible)
  • Cheese and cheese preparations with added fruit and herbs
  • Mold cheese, Harz cheese, processed cheese

Contains gluten, FORBIDDEN!

  • Yogurt with biscuits or cereals
    (In the case of malt, the starting product (barley, rice, maize), the type of processing and the amount added in the edible end product are important.

Fish, fish products, canned fish

Gluten free

In fresh, unbreaded, unseasoned form without any further additives:

  • Fish, mussels, scampi, crabs, crab meat, prawns, oysters
  • Canned fish in their own juice and oil

Gluten additives are possible - selection only after careful, up-to-date examination

In sauces with / or condiments

  • Canned fish
  • Mussels, crabs, scampi, crab meat, prawns and oysters with sauces and / or spices
  • Surimi (imitation crab meat made from fish muscle protein with spices, binders and other ingredients)

Contains gluten, FORBIDDEN!

  • fresh or frozen breaded fish
  • Fried herring, roast pug

Meat, meat products, sausage products

Gluten free

Natural, unseasoned, unpreaded, fresh or frozen:

  • Pork, beef, sheep, goat, poultry, lamb, game, offal

Gluten additives possible - selection only after careful, current examination

"Seasoned", "Pickled", "Breaded", "Prepared ready to cook", "Ready to eat"

All types of sausage

  • Doner kebab, boiled ham, meat in its own juice, corned beef with jelly, lard

Contains gluten, FORBIDDEN!

  • breaded meat, seitan (meat substitute made from wheat)

Since, according to the meat ordinance, vegetable protein, grain, fruit and vegetables can be used, the exact current test is essential! This also applies to products that are offered “pickled, breaded” or “ready to cook”. In sausage and cooked ham, gluten exposure can be caused by gluten-containing binders, spice mixtures, brine, cutter aids, reddening additives, flavor enhancers, bread rolls, groats and flour.

When buying open goods, it is extremely questionable whether the question about gluten-free products can be answered by the sales staff.

Cereals, bread, baked goods, pasta, potatoes, potato products

Gluten free

Labeled gluten-free, free of contamination (dust containing gluten, foreign contamination): -> as dietetic gluten-free food

  • Amaranth, buckwheat, corn, rice, millet (teff flour), quinoa, wild rice, chickpeas, farinha (cassava flour), chestnuts, grapeseed flour
  • Bread and flour labeled gluten-free
  • fresh potatoes, jacket potatoes, baked potatoes
  • Pasta labeled gluten-free
  • real Asian glass noodles (consist exclusively of mung bean starch and water)
  • (Asian) rice noodles made from rice flour (Caution: the Asian rice noodles that look like spagetti are not to be confused with the gluten-containing Greek rice noodles, the so-called Kritharaki, made from durum wheat semolina.

legumes

  • all varieties (caution: gluten-containing climbing aids possible)

Gluten additives are possible - selection only after careful, up-to-date examination

Cereals and cereal products

  • When purchasing grain that is not labeled as "gluten-free", only whole grains should be bought and then carefully checked whether the grain is contaminated with other grains containing gluten.
  • Under no circumstances may mills be used to grind the types of grain that have already been used to grind grain containing gluten. Stone mills are often ground by the manufacturer with cereals containing gluten.
  • Puffed rice, corn flakes (are often sweetened with barley malt), sago (made from barley), popcorn, potato chips, ready-made polenta, ready-made or frozen potato puree, corn derivatives

Potatoes and potato products

  • French fries products, dry potato products, mashed potato products, products made from preformed potato dough (croquettes, gnocci, potato noodles), fried potato products (potato pancakes, rösti), potato dumplings, potato snack products (chips, sticks, etc.)

legumes

  • Legumes in ready meals

Contains gluten, FORBIDDEN!

  • Wheat, rye, oats, triticals, barley, spelled, green spelled, einkorn, emmer (two-grain), kamut and all other derivatives in all forms (flour, meal, flakes, pearl barley, semolina, bran), bulgur (pre-cooked wheat), couscous (wheat semolina moistened and ground into pellets) tempura flour (flour mixture containing wheat), fermented cereals containing gluten
  • All types of gluten-contaminated gluten-free grains from foreign grains in the packaging or from gluten contamination on the packaging and processing machines
  • Udon (flat noodle made from wheat flour in Japanese cuisine), Somen (vermicelli made from buckwheat or wheat flour), Kritharaki (rice-looking noodles made from durum wheat semolina)
  • Breads labeled "corn, rice, soy, buckwheat bread" without additional gluten-free labeling. These types of bread usually contain only 10% of the specified type of grain

Edible fats and oils

Gluten free

  • Butter, clarified butter, pure lard, oils, pure plate fats

Gluten additives are possible - selection only after careful, up-to-date examination

  • Fats with additives such as herbs, spices, semi-fat products, diet products, light products
  • Butter, margarine, oils

Sweets, sweeteners, spreads, ice cream

Gluten free

Sweeteners

  • Household, powdered, rock candy, brown sugar, jam sugar (1: 1; 2: 1; 3: 1), natural grape sugar without additives, fructose

Spreads

Gluten additives are possible - selection only after careful, up-to-date examination

Sweets

  • In principle, all sweets such as chocolate, chocolate goods, candies, dragees, brittle, liquorice, gummy candies, gummy bears, chewing gum, nougat, rice cakes, rice crackers etc. can contain gluten, because the food industry likes to use barley malt as a sweetener. In addition, added flavors can also contain gluten.

Sweeteners

  • Vanilla sugar, all sweeteners (powder, tablets, liquid sweeteners), gelling agents such as gelling magic, diabetic sugar, flavored glucose

Spreads

  • Nut nougat cream, maple syrup

ice

  • all types of ice cream from the ice cream parlor, packaged ice cream, soft ice cream

Contains gluten, FORBIDDEN!

  • Chocolate with cereals, biscuit additives

Soft drinks

Gluten free

  • Mineral, table and medicinal water
  • Coffee beans, instant freeze-dried coffee
  • pure, unflavored and vitaminized herbal, fruit and black tea
  • pure fruit juices (100% fruit juice content) as well as fruit nectar and fruit syrup

Gluten additives are possible - selection only after careful, up-to-date examination

  • flavored mineral water, coffee and tea
  • vitaminized tea, isotonic drinks, syrup for drinks
  • Mixed milk beverages, beverages containing cocoa
  • Fruit juice drinks, lemonades, sodas, fruit and vegetable juices with added fiber (must be declared)
  • gluten-free coffee grounds made from chicory, sweet lupine, soy

Contains gluten, FORBIDDEN!

  • Malt coffee, grain coffee, surrogate

Propellants

Gluten additives possible - selection only after careful, current examination

  • Baking powder, deer horn salt, dry yeast, couverture, flavorings

Contains gluten, FORBIDDEN!

  • BIO fresh and BIO dry yeast (do not use for safety reasons, as wheat and wheat germ can serve as a breeding ground)

binder

Gluten free

  • Gluten-free labeled corn, potato, arrowroot, maranta starch, rice and guar gum (E 412), tragacanth (E413), locust bean gum (E 410), kuzu, tapioca

Gluten additives are possible - selection only after careful, up-to-date examination

  • Cake topping, cream stand

Gelling agent

Gluten free

  • Xantan (E 415), carrage, pectin, preserving sugar

Gluten additives are possible - selection only after careful, up-to-date examination

Spices, seasoning mixes, sauces, mustard, ketchup, mayonnaise, tomato paste, vinegar

Gluten free

Spices

  • pure spices such as paprika, pepper
  • pure herbs
  • Mixtures of pure herbs or pure spices
  • Glutamate (E620-625)

Tomato paste

  • Tomato paste if only tomatoes, salt or sugar have been added

vinegar

  • Vinegar essence, fruit vinegar, white wine vinegar, red wine vinegar, balsamic vinegar, all clear types of vinegar

Gluten additives are possible - selection only after careful, up-to-date examination

Spices

  • Nutmegs (generally nutmegs are gluten-free)
  • Spice preparations, spice preparations, seasoning salt, seasoning flavoring salt, seasonings, seasoning mixtures, seasoning sauces, curry powder (mixed spices), french fries seasoning salt (please check carefully, may contain flour)

Sauces, mustard, ketchup, mayonnaise

  • Mustard, mayonnaise, horseradish, ketchup
  • Fish sauce, chutney, soy sauce

vinegar

  • Herbal vinegars, vinegars with spices and herbs, malt vinegar

Alcoholic beverages

Gluten free

  • Wine, sweet cider, sparkling wine, Prosecco, fruit brandies, grain, clear brandies, rum, arrack, gin, gluten-free labeled beer

Gluten additives are possible - selection only after careful, up-to-date examination

  • Whiskey (basically gluten-free (especially single-malt whiskey), with some types (e.g. blended whiskey) malt is added after distillation)

Contains gluten, FORBIDDEN!

  • Beer, malt beer, rice beer, bread drink
  • Liqueurs, mulled wine, punch (if not declared gluten-free)
  • imported corn and rice beers

Source: DZG